Book Review

Memoirs of a Geisha – Arthur Golden

I’ve had this book on my shelf for a year and hadn’t read it – and this weekend, when I was looking for something new to read, I stumbled upon it at the back of my shelf and decided to try it.

Wow. What a fabulous, emotional, hauntingly beautiful book about a life style that is all but extinct.

The book was so well written, at times I found myself forgetting that this wasn’t my life – it was just a book I was reading. It was heart breaking and there were moments where I felt immense despair reading it, and other moments where I experienced excitement and happiness. However, there really isn’t much joy in this book – it’s a haunting memoir about a young girl whose life is filled with tragedy and suffering and follows her flowing with the changes, and overcoming them. It’s refreshing in a sense that Chiyo overcomes immense heart ache and pushes forward when so many others would give up – and no matter how often she is beaten down she still continues. I also had to note that Hatsumomo and my sister in law have a striking number of similarities….lol.

Overall, it is a fantastic book that I would highly recommend to most people – especially women. I aspire to have a sliver of the courage and staying power that Chiyo has when I face the incredibly less tragic obstacles in my life. It reminds me how truly blessed I am!

One thought on “Book Review

Leave a Reply

