#MicroblogMondays #1 – Memoirs of a Geisha Thoughts

I read Memoirs of a Geisha this weekend – you can see my review here.

I haven’t been able to stop thinking about it (I even dreamt about it) and just this morning I realized why: it left too much unresolved.

For one, she never found Satsu. Many authors would have reunited the pair in the end, but instead he left this wound open and completely unanswered. Secondly, Nobu got the shaft – big time – despite everything he did for her. That one really gets to me – he literally saved her life, and she STILL hurt him…in the worst way possible. Thirdly, they allude to but don’t really acknowledge or confirm the baby boy.

So, while it was a great book, I am not sure I’m such a fan of the lingering thoughts and aftermath. It’s almost like when you drink/eat something that tastes really good, but then it leaves a bad after taste…leaves you confused and unsure if you really enjoyed it, and whether it was really worth it.

I’m going to watch the movie to see if it portrays it any differently.

Have you read it? What did you think? Is the movie any different?

Read more on #microblogmondays here.

4 thoughts on “#MicroblogMondays #1 – Memoirs of a Geisha Thoughts

  1. I have to say, like you, I felt like the ending was at once almost too neatly packaged (fall in love and everything is grand) and too many loose ends (most of what you mention). The writing is really vivid and the story is memorable, but when I’ve re-read the book, I actually quit reading right about the time the war starts. In some ways, I almost felt like the main story was the rivalry between the main character and Hatsumomo and when that ended, it sort of loses its pop.

    Like

    • I agree! When Hatsumomo just left I was so shocked…it really felt like the story and I wasn’t sure what to do with it from there.

      Like

  2. I haven’t seen the movie, but read the book. All I can remember about it is that I liked it. I do get tired of reading characters who behave badly though, but at the same time, I get a little annoyed if a book wraps everything up neatly. Perhaps this is why I haven’t read a five-star book for a long time!

    Like

Leave a Reply

