#Microblog Mondays #2 – Chicken Cordon Bleu…but not

Mr. Big decided he wanted to spice things up by cooking (gasp) a surprise meal for me. I LOVE that he came up with this, especially since he never cooks (if he does it’s part of a meal or it’s something frozen or from a box/can/takeout place).

I had visions of pad thai or fried rice or burritos or some new casserole… knowing I am lactose intolerant limits our options, so you can imagine my surprise when he told me it was Chicken Cordon Bleu.

I was worried … there is only one thing in the whole world that I cannot eat without throwing up: ham. I am also lactose intolerant. Traditional Chicken Cordon Bleu has ham and cheese in it. The last thing I wanted to do was hurt his feelings or be unable to eat it.

He promised me he made adjustments – and what he ended up bringing out was essentially a breaded chicken breast stuffed with lunch meat roast beef and lactose free swiss cheese.

I love, love LOVE that he wanted to do this. I love that he was creative and thoughtful in his compromise knowing my intolerance/dislike for ham. I LOVE that he wanted to spice things up a bit by doing something so kind and thoughtful. But I’ll be OK if I never have to eat that again!! LOL!

I told him it was good anyway because I know how lucky I am that he wanted to do this for me – and I didn’t want to hurt his feelings. Which my Mom pointed out will only lead to it becoming a regular on our family meal planning…. I may have to tell him the truth.

Next time, maybe we will pick a recipe together, and cook it together! It’s a lot more fun that way, and then we can ensure it is something we will both enjoy! 🙂

 

5 thoughts on “#Microblog Mondays #2 – Chicken Cordon Bleu…but not

  1. The cooking together sounds like a good idea! Hopefully he’ll get the chance to practice and you’ll find a recipe you both like. Perhaps then in the future when he’s looking for something, he’ll have that recipe in mind along with the skill set to make it – that might work out well.

    Like

  2. I am laughing so hard. Josh can cook, but I don’t let him cook because he measures things and therefore creates too many utensils to clean up. Whereas I measure nothing and therefore clean up is a breeze. Oh, and because he would totally make a meal like the one your husband made, and then I’d have to (gasp) eat it. You are a good woman for smiling and eating it. It was a very sweet gesture on his part.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

