#Microblog Mondays – What Irks

In response to Mel @ Stirrup Queens #MicroblogMondays Post (go check it out here).

The biggest, boldest most irk-a-licious peeve of mine that is non dangerous is hands down – without a doubt – the word “Yous”.

Like so many of you, I find blatant grammar mistakes can be incredibly painful to my eyes. However, as I am not an expert I usually try to let it go because I am sure, to someone who is more particular than me, my posts probably reek of poor grammar.

Except for “yous”…I cannot let go of “yous”.

Not only is “yous” NOT a word…it’s also not plural just because you add an inappropriate “s” on to it. (Mices? Mooses? Jameses? Mrses?) I promise, you can say the same thing and NOT have an inappropriate “s” dragging your message down from “average joe” to “hold ma’ beer”.

See here:

“Have a great day yous guys!” = “Have a great day you guys!” (Notice the lack of “s” on “you”? Yet the meaning is the same?)

“Love yous!” = “Love you both/all” (Again, no “s” on “you” and still the meaning is the same)

Now that I’ve mentioned this, it’s opening a whole cataclysm of word misuse that makes my brain hurt….so before we get into the their/there/they’re and the two/too/to and the common (not to be confused with “come on”) and the seen (when it should be “saw”) mixed up with the lack of appropriate ; : , . ? ! …..

Okay, I’m stopping now because I have no power to stop this post that is about to become a novel regarding the irritating way people misuse basic english.

Oh and don’t forget “thru” (through) and “u” (you)….

Now I’m stopping, I promise.

Just one more: irregardless (regardless)

Ok, last one: Aks (not ask)

I’m done. I promise.

7 thoughts on “#Microblog Mondays – What Irks

  1. Bah! Yes! “Yous” and “seen/saw” are probably the worst. When people misuse seen for saw I automatically deduct IQ points from them. I’m sorry but it just sounds so hickish (as does yous, and unfortunately my father in law says that :p). Also, when people say eye-talian (Italian). Gives me a twitch…lol.

    Like

  2. I wonder if it’s regional? I don’t think I’ve ever encountered a plural “yous.” Though Marylanders add an extra “R” in random places. It is most unfortunate to have a name that ends in an A because it is often pronounced “Melissar.”

    Like

    1. I completely agree! I’m Canadian…and I honestly think it’s a backwoods redneck Canadian saying. The extra “r” is the same for British and Australian accents too. My close friends name is Samantha, and two of our teachers in high school had accents (one from England, the other from Australia) and they both called her Samanther. LOL.

      Like

    2. It’s probably a regional thing that spreads like a disease from place to place. I say that because, “Yous guys” is a common expression in the New England area too. We have the R thing too. I can’t count how many times in my life I’ve heard, “Do yous guys wanna order some pizzer?” *shudder*

      Like

Leave a Reply

