#Microblog Monday – Perception

I was visiting with my nephew yesterday and he was wearing his customary pirate hat (plain red toque pulled down over one eye) and cape (mardi gras beaded necklace turned backwards). I took a picture of him all dressed up, and he asked to see it. I showed it to him and he stared at it for a minute before thoughtfully announcing “that is not me”.

When I asked him why he didn’t think it was him, he said “Because I am a pirate!!”.

He meant he was *clearly* dressed as a pirate – and yet the camera was only capturing an adorable boy in a red toque and a necklace…not at all the pirate he was imagining in his minds eye. He confidently and patiently explained to me that the camera was broken, but “that’s OK because I’m right here” and then returned to his sinking pirate ship (large, flat rock). Thankfully, this experience did not effect his belief that he was a pirate in any way – and it taught me something too.

Sometimes pictures don’t show you what you think they will. Sometimes they don’t capture the whole picture. Sometimes, we should just accept that instead of beating ourselves up over the way we look in just one picture.

Sometimes, 4 year olds can be pretty smart.

For more on Microblog Mondays, see: http://www.stirrup-queens.com/2016/07/microblog-mondays-99-epistles/ 

 

12 thoughts on “#Microblog Monday – Perception

  1. I love this perspective. It gives me a more peaceful view of a picture situation I am dealing with at the moment (that’s a super vague comment, I know) and I really appreciate that you shared your nephew’s thoughts. Really, really a lot – this lovely post helped me. Thanks. (And all the rambling should tell you how bothered I was by said situation so again, thanks to your nephew.)

    Like

      • Yes – to briefly describe, I recently discovered photos shared on social media which I feel are over stepping and over stating a particular relationship. I was deeply upset by my discovery. Instead of dwelling, Ive accepted that the pictures shared are not of this person who is so special to me (regardless of the fact that I TOOK THEM) but are of the imagined version of my person the poster has created in his mind. And your post confirmed that for me. Deep thoughts for a Friday night. 😉 Thanks again – this is just one of the many reasons I love our infertility community.

        Like

  2. Oh, this is fantastic! I certainly know the feeling of looking better in my head than in a photo. Maybe it should only matter how we look in our heads. Lessons from a four-year-old.

    Like

    • Right? I think its also worth noting that we are almost always harder on our selves than our loved ones are. I loved the pic because it captured his beautiful self in the midst of creativity – and he hated it because it didn’t look like he expected. Made me realize if I took the time to see what others see instead of my own insecurities – maybe a picture would be less upsetting to me. Thanks for commenting!:-)

      Like

Leave a Reply

