Scared.

6 months ago, I had my first ever severe migraine with aura. I had one more after that. My doctor was alarmed at the sudden onset of them, but chalked it up to changing hormones and wrote me a prescription for pain medication.

Then, 1 month ago, a terrible head pain started. It last for four days before I went to the doctor, who – after a thorough examination – thought it was a sinus infection and armed me with antibiotics, nasal spray, antihistamines and a neti pot.The pain became less severe and more spaced out through the day – and soon it was just a constant fullness/ache that was made worse by exertion, laughing or movement/bending. When I completed the medications and it still continued without change, I began to worry. I started taking Ty.leno.l every day to get through, and crossed my fingers that if I just used the neti-pot enough, it would get better. The nature of pain changed and became a dull ache and fullness, interrupted by periods of sharp jabbing pain. Exertion, laughing or movement/bending brought on the most intense pain I have ever experienced (and I have a high pain tolerance). This has continued steadily for weeks like this.

I tried to get in to see my doctor last week, but she was away. Not wanting to go to the hospital, I just waited patiently for her to return. In that time, I experienced two episodes where I could not find the words I wanted to say. Never has my cognitive ability ever been off – and it was very scary. This could be from a multitude of things – stress not being the least – but in combination with my head pain it was terrifying.

When I called my Doctor after her vacation, she scheduled me in for an 8:30 am appt this morning – when the office doesn’t even open until 9:30 am. That should have alerted me that this may be more than a sinus infection.

I spent 1.5 hours there this morning while my Doctor and her resident asked me a hundred questions, poked, and prodded me. I had numerous actions to complete, which was comparable to a small workout. At the end they determined it was not my sinuses at all. The tests they performed on me in the office all appear normal, but they are concerned about my symptoms and my head pain – and have booked me in for an MRI brain scan.

I am no fool. I know exactly what they are looking for, and I’m scared.

 

3 thoughts on “Scared.

  1. I’m so sorry you’re going through this. I have a couple things to share.

    1. The second migraine I ever had in my life involved paralysis of one of my lower arms and loss of speech for a limited time. I knew what I wanted to say, but the words wouldn’t come out of my mouth. I was fine later that day, but my mom booked me for an appt with a neurologist. Turns out that it was just a “bad” migraine. I never had another episode like it. Perhaps, unfortunately, these are your migraines?

    2. My sister had a brain tumor, on top of her MS. She eventually had surgery to remove it and all went well. She continues to be the same ornery and out-spoken person she’s been her entire life.

    3. I hope you receive some definitive answers soon. The not knowing, I think, is the scariest part.

    Like

    1. Thank you! I truly hope its migraines not something worse. Not knowing really is the worst! Being in Canada – its weeks for an MRI so its not like i will know soon. Scary stuff but thank you for commenting and sharing your experience. ❤

      Like

  2. I’ve had bad migraines on and off for most of my adult life. They are awful and can have a whole host of different symptoms. I know it’s hard waiting for answers, and I’m so sorry. Sending you love and light!

    Like

Leave a Reply

