#Microblog Monday – Time is Moving Too Fast!

I am a very involved Auntie. I go to all the school plays, swim meets, talent shows, birthday parties, as well as babysit my nephews at least once a week. They’re the closest thing to motherhood I have, and I love every second and am so thankful to have sisters who are happy to let me be so involved. It really has been my lifeline in these latter years of infertility and each moment I spend with these boys helps mend my heart.

In just one week my middle nephew, the one who I take care of 5 days a week, is starting Kindergarten. And I am not, in any way, shape or form, ready. You would think it wouldn’t bother me because he’s not my son, but let me tell you – it makes me so sad. I have kissed those little toes, wiped that bum and patiently helped teach that little boy how to crawl, walk, run, sing, spell his name, build a sandcastle, use the potty, play cards and all the other things you teach little ones. I have fought with him over nap times, and bed time, and given him 1 million and two baths. I have held him while he cried, and bartered with him to take his medicine during his third, fourth, fifth ear infection in two years. I have laid awake worrying about him, and loved him more than I knew it was possible to love someone. He may not be my son, but he is my little Sweet Pea and it feels like just yesterday he was a cheerful little baby, just sitting up, and now I’ve blinked and here we are at 4 and about to start school.

Where has the time gone?

download

Slow down, little one, and let us enjoy your sweet, kind, gentle, uncomplicated and fun loving personality for just a little bit longer before you move off into the bigger world of school and peer pressure and everything else that comes with it.

For more microblog mondays, please click here.

 

7 thoughts on “#Microblog Monday – Time is Moving Too Fast!

  1. Best of luck navigating this new phase. I feel your emotions – I have a soon to be kindergartener and I’m not even a little bit ready. Next week is going to hurt.

    Like

  2. Years ago, I did daycare for my best friend’s two children – the day i was “fired” (aka, the youngest was in school full time at about the same time my circumstances changed, making it difficult to work) was incredibly sad. Even though distance and circumstance separated us, I still see them on FB, and get pangs, wondering how time has passed so quickly. *hugs*

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I feel like nothing shows the passage of time like small children hitting their milestones… I don’t have kids of my own but watch my friends’ kids hit these marks (and I am nowhere near as involved as you clearly are in this lucky little guy’s life). Bittersweet… You clearly love him very much!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

