Book Reviews – Aug/Sept Edition

I’ve been reading up a storm lately – but I haven’t done a book review in a while. So here are my most recent reads and what I thought:

The Lake House by Kate Morton – *****

I LOVE Kate Morton. This book, like her others, held both mystery and drama. It was well written and easy to read. She has yet to disappoint me. Definitely a good read if you like mystery, drama, romance and historical fiction all wrapped into one!

Circling the Sun – Paula McLain – *****

This was my first Paula McLain book. I thoroughly enjoyed it, and couldn’t wait to get my hands on the Paris Wife. It gives you a unique perspective of Africa, and women’s rights. It is a beautiful story, with a powerful heroine.

I Let You Go – Clare MacKintosh – *****

Let me first say, this is not at all my kind of book. I would never have picked it up on my own – but my Mom read it and insisted I read it too. I obliged … and can I just say holy shitballs? It wasthe most mind blowing thing I have read in SO LONG. The twist…oh the twist….I have never been so shocked and confused in my reading life. Definitely a must read – it will blow your mind!

The Paris Wife – Paula McLain – *****

I could not wait to get my hands on this one after Circling the Sun, and I was not disappointed. It was the wonderful but sad story of Ernest Hemingway’s first wife. So well written, so enjoyable to read. Definitely recommend it.

The Pleasures of Men – Kate Williams – **

I bought this one off the cheap rack at Chapters. I am usually pleased, but I have to say I didn’t enjoy this one. It was strange, and unpleasant. There was no happiness in this book, and when I finished I actually felt a little blue.

The Isle of Wings – Karen Altenberg – ****

Another Chapters cheap rack find – but with better results. It was a hauntingly beautiful tale of a remote island plagued with infant deaths, and a minister determined to show the natives the light. A good read, and certainly unique! I enjoyed reading up on the history of St. Kilda afterwards.

The Royal Nanny – Karen Harper – ****

An interesting and well written story about the real Royal Nanny – Mrs. Lala. The story is beautiful and exciting, but also sad (like any good book should be!). It’s historical, educational and well written. Based on a true story.

The Illegals – Lawrence Hill – ****

I was so excited to read this one – I loved Book of Negroes and had high hopes for it. Let me tell you – this was not at all what I expected! It was excellent – well written and a good, powerful story. But it is a bit strange – the places where the story takes place are fake, and it is written in the future (2018, 2020, etc). Yet it references the rest of the world in actual…so at first, I thought I had just never heard of these places. In the back of the book it refers to the two places being made up. So again, it was odd – but good, and the story is powerful and absolutely applies to real places that exist.

Leave a Reply

