Monday Musings – Smart Phones

Does anyone else think Smart Phones are getting TOO smart? They’re almost replacing the need for common sense…and they certainly have revolutionized the way we do things. You don’t go a whole work day without talking to your spouse/family, you don’t carry an address book or quarter for the payphone, and reunions are rarely surprises because you’ve seen everything on FB already. Oh, and when was the last time you had to go more than a couple hours wondering about if Penguins have knees? Or whether that lump on your tongue is normal? Or if Bran.gelia is really getting a divorce? Because – let’s be honest – we just goog.le that shit as soon as it pops into our heads.

So recently I had an experience that made me wonder how much my smart phone REALLY knows about me…

I saw a thing on FB that said to type in “This Christmas, I want a …” and select the middle suggestion. I decided to try it, fully thinking it would say puppy or goats or watermelon cake or coffee or Taylor Kin.ney (goo.gle him, it’s worth it) since that is what I am always texting about and I believed it was based on your most texted words.

This is what I got, instead:

screenshot

I was torn between surprise, and then sadness and then embarrassment because, really, how awkward if I were to post it and get all the questions (or worse, radio silence). For real, though, I hardly use that word on my cell phone so why did it pick THAT word? There were thousands to select and it picked that ONE word. These random moments where I am having a good time, and then infertility comes up and slaps me in the face still bring me to my knees.

I recovered quickly though, and selected “Dog” instead (because no one will know anyway) and then enjoyed the comments of exasperation from my friends and family that the LAST thing I need for Christmas is a dog since I already have three and a bunch of other pets. (But, for reals, there is no such thing as TOO MANY dogs. There just isn’t.).

Leave a Reply

