#Microblog Mondays – Christmas Gifts

Mr. Big asked for a gift this year. He almost never asks for anything…but he mentioned that he really wants an Ice fishing Flasher…more specifically, one that costs $500 (gulp). Not that he wants me to spend $500, but that he knows my talent for finding deals and/or used items in mint condition for way cheaper. And you know me, I love a challenge.

It took just over a month, and some mad heckling skills, and the willingness to drive 2.5 hours in a snow storm – but I got it – in mint condition and for a fraction of the price. It is now nestled happily under the tree in a box way too big for it (so he can’t possibly guess).

I’m super excited to give it to him, because I made sure to convince him I really couldn’t find him one and it was just too expensive (I am SO cheap, so he totally buys this), so he will be so surprised. But there is this little niggling thought in the back of my mind that giving a used gift is somehow less special… (which surprises me because I love to thrift shop)… I am not sure where the idea is coming from but it’s there, plugging away at my happiness over finding Mr. Big the perfect present.

Thoughts? Do you ever give pre-loved gifts?

6 thoughts on “#Microblog Mondays – Christmas Gifts

  1. I would consider it vintage. Mint condition is mint condition. He will love it! You obviously put a lot of effort and love into getting him what he truly wants and he will feel that more than anything. Enjoy your amazing get!!

    Like

  2. I agree with Beth, you put a lot of effort and love into it. Plus he wants it!
    I love getting and giving previously loved items (homemade/handmade is included in this). Thankfully my family and friends enjoy it too. It saves items from the landfill, someone else gets to love them also, it saves money and knowing that I got someone something for a bargain of a price is awesome!

    Like

  3. I think when someone gives you “hints” like that, it really doesn’t matter if it is pre-loved and if I know anything about fishing, not that much but don’t tell me father in law, I bet he’ll appreciate even more the great deal you got. This gift and all the work it went into it is all very thoughtful.

    Like

  4. This gift shows that you listened and worked to fulfill a want in a way that benefits both of you. Don’t discount the time you put into this, which is more important than the fact that it’s used. You put a lot of care into the gift.

    Like

  5. I thinking tracking something down like that is very thoughtful, and I’m a fan of used stuff – I’m always telling people to get me used books instead of new ones, for instance (but they don’t: people definitely have a problem with potentially looking cheap!). Expensive presents are a bit controversial. I started asking my hub for expensive stuff a few years ago when it just hit me that he does earn about three times as much as me… he now asks for expensive stuff back, so I just make sure I keep adding things to my wishlist… I sound very mercenary but I’m not (well maybe I am a bit)… In the end, it’s fine if you can afford it, but not if you can’t. Anyway, I think what you did was very nice and caring

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

