Holiday Recap

I hope you all had a lovely, peaceful, love filled holiday!! Even if you don’t celebrate anything right now, I hope you enjoyed a break of some kind!

On Friday I had the day off, but Mr. Big was working. I busied myself preparing our Christmas Eve Eve turkey dinner (a new tradition I hope to keep!). I also braved the grocery store, thinking everyone would be working and it would be ok, and learned that every single person in the city was ALSO at the grocery store. It took me 3x as long to get what I needed, but I did run into a few people I haven’t seen in a while so I didn’t mind. This is the first time I’ve tried to cook a full turkey dinner completely alone, and I learned two things…

1) It is SO MUCH WORK to do it all on your own, without a single pair of extra hands. I may or may not have caught Chops licking the cooked turkey when I was trying to drain the potatoes and put in the carrots at the same time. (If I DID catch her, and I’m not saying I did, I would have cut that part off the turkey because I put too much effort into that damn bird to waste it!).

2) Cornstarch is thicker than flour. So when using it to thicken gravy, you should use less than you would flour. Mr. Big and I laughed and laughed while we spread our gravy over our potatoes with a butter knife like it was jam… (it still tasted good, though! LOL).

20161223_175530

On Saturday we got up late and made a big, delicious breakfast. That evening we went to the Christmas Eve service, and then drove over an hour to a local area renowned for it’s Christmas light displays. It was totally worth the drive!

On Sunday we woke up early while it was still dark out and drank our coffee in the glow of the Christmas tree. We had the fire on, and Christmas music playing. This is my MOST FAVOURITE time of the day on Christmas, a secret passed onto me by my Mom, who still gets up early to sip her coffee and sit in the glow of the tree. It gives you a beautiful, uncomplicated moment to reflect on Christmas and enjoy the tree before the busyness of Christmas morning arrives. We opened our presents and were spoiled by our loved ones.

20161225_065021
My most favourite time of day on Christmas – early in the morning, with my coffee, before anyone else is up!

 

Mr. Big and I had decided not to buy each other gifts since we recently purchased a new bed, which was meant to be our Christmas gift. Yet, on Christmas morning he surprised me with a Pandora bracelet and charms, and I surprised him with an ice fishing fish finder (more on this story in another post!). It was deliciously uncomplicated, and wonderful. We called his families to say Merry Christmas and thank them for our presents and I threw a pan of cinnamon buns in the over. We ate our buns and clementines, and then got ready to go to my parents house for brunch. After brunch, my sisters and their kids showed up and the crazy began. We opened presents, played games, and ask the boys to slow down or quiet down at least 10000000000000000000000000000000 times. It was wonderful. We had a delicious turkey dinner after (my Dad makes the best turkey), and then relaxed in the glow of the tree while it settled. We were home and snuggling with our furbabies by 7 pm, cuddled on the couch watching Elf.

It was a wonderful Christmas and while my heart ached for the lack of little ones in my life, I am so grateful for all of the wonderful blessings I do have.

And here we are at Tuesday. It never ceases to amaze me how much preparation goes into Christmas, and then how quickly it is all over!

Happy Holidays everyone!

One thought on “Holiday Recap

  1. I love the idea of getting up while it is still dark out and drinking your coffee in the glow of the Christmas tree with the fire on. This year I lay in bed waiting for it to get fully light and then wondered why the northern English suburbs were looking so grey, damp and unfestive.
    That’s definitely a tip to remember for next year.

    Like

Leave a Reply

