#MicroblogMonday – One Job, Two Job, Red Job, Blue Job

If you could pick either of these options, which would it be?

Option A) you run an ice cream shop. You like making something wonderful like ice cream that people love – but you also have to do some things you don’t like… balancing budgets, dealing with staff, inventory, etc.  Your coworkers can be really difficult at times, but the good ones are really amazing. You feel appreciated a lot of the time and you know you’re good at your job. Sometimes, it can be really boring and stressful – but for the most part, you are content. You know you have more potential than you’re using, but it’s comfortable and comfortable feels really good. You make a decent amount of money that allows you to live comfortably, but any big expenses (like adoptions or fertility treatments or car repairs) do require saving up. It is hard to take time off work because you are the only person who can do your work, so every day is spent worrying about how much your work is piling up.

Option B) you are an ice cream company executive. You enjoy most of your work, but it is definitely stressful. You like your team, even though they can be a bit catty at times, but when it comes down to it they always have your back. You are challenged each day with your work, which is thrilling and fulfilling, and it helps you grow as a person and a professional. Some days, you can’t wait to get out of there, but overall it is a fairly good fit. You feel good about what you do. You make enough money to be comfortable, and afford the things you need (like an adoption, fertility treatments, etc). Your team is supportive of you when you need to be off, and you are able to actually enjoy your time without worrying too much about work.

Which would you pick?

*I may, or may not, be using ice cream examples to try and decide whether to make a career shift within my organization….any advice or suggestions is appreciated!

 

 

 

 

To join in on Microblog Mondays – or to see other posts – hop on over to Stirrup Queens!

 

13 thoughts on “#MicroblogMonday – One Job, Two Job, Red Job, Blue Job

    • Thank you for commenting! I used to be an option B person, and then I became an option A person and have so far enjoyed it – but now that there is an opportunity for me to be an option B person again, I am really weighing out my options!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I’m the kind of person who gets stuck in a situation A type scenario, but think I should be in situation B, challenging myself. One thing that’s very important to me is that it isn’t difficult to take time off (as it is in A) – I hate any resistance to leave requests, it really bothers me. With B, you feel good about what you do and don’t stress about it when you’re off. If both of these scenarios are full-time, five-day, 9-5-type jobs, then B is the winner overall – sounds more satisfying and rewarding. Go for B. They both sound equally stressful, in their separate ways, but B is definitely better.

    Like

    • I’m definitely leaning towards B! I would hate to miss a good opportunity because I’m afraid I will flop in the new role (I’ve never flopped before, so I don’t know why I’m worried about it now!). Thanks for commenting! It is really helpful!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. If I’m reading it correctly, it seems like scenario A is a job you really like (you used the words content and comfortable) but you also feel like you always have to be there and cannot enjoy your time away. In scenario B the job is ok, but you have more freedom in getting away from work with the added bonus of more financial earnings. I would lean more towards option B personally just because I would want to be both comfortable financially and not feel like a jerk for taking some time off….

    Like

    • I am leaning that way…it’s so hard to make a decision when a surprise position comes up, when you are actually quite content where you are! The pros and cons lists are equal…but I have to make the decision by Friday so atleast that will force me to decide!

      Like

  3. I’d probably go for option A because it sounds like the person is much more involved in the process. Run an ice cream shop vs. ice cream exec. I guess I’d rather be closer to creation.

    Like

  4. I’ve kind of done both. And there are advantages and disadvantages to both. As you’ve pointed out. I think I’m better in Option B, though these days I also very much like the idea of Option A. It’s a very personal thing, and we’re all different personalities.

    If, in Option A, you feel your talents aren’t being fully utilised, are there other ways of doing that – either in your own time, or in helping out the company – if that is your preference?

    I could say it would come down to the question of whether you get to eat the ice-cream in both options! But I suspect ice-cream isn’t exactly involved in your selection criteria. Which is sad. Because we all deserve ice-cream.

    Like

Leave a Reply

