#microblogmondays – Love Day!

*For more information on Microblog Mondays and how you can participate – please click here!

I can remember when I found Valentine’s Day hard because I was single (and 21…pppffttt I was sooo young). At that time, I had no idea how many more holidays I had in store for me that would be hard because I was missing something. I was focused on Valentines and how much it sucked to not have someone to love.

But then I found him. A big, soft, loving, kind, generous and gentle man of my very own to love and be loved by for ever and ever. Then I married him and I mostly fall more in love with him every day (except when he leaves his underwear on the floor for the babillionth time). Just like that, Valentine’s Day was good again! I had my Valentine, and so February 14th could come and go without causing me any pain. Valentine’s Day was redeemed!


 

I try to remember this when I am aching over Christmas, or Mother’s/Father’s Day, or Family Day. I hope, and pray, that they too will be redeemed, just like Valentine’s, and that eventually I will find my home filled with giggles and little feet to share in the magic of holidays with!


Happy Valentines day to you! What could be more beautiful than a holiday all about love? Do you like this day? How do you/do you celebrate?

 

11 thoughts on “#microblogmondays – Love Day!

  1. Aw Raven I think that’s amazing that you have such a nice fella; I love how you describe him he sounds like a gem. I too used to hate Valentine’s Day. I scoffed at it and despised the commercial exploitation of the day (well, really it lasts a couple of months beforehand – shout out to M&S). But then I also used to hate holding hands in the street (I’m talking about my 20s – I was a bit romance-resistant…). It’s all different when you have someone to observe the day with, and now I treat it as an excuse for a mini celebration – even better if it lands on a Monday or Tuesday and you can make that day a bit more special than usual. Psychologists do say that to be happy and to slow time down, you should make the best of any occasion that comes your way. I suppose it does all depend on whether your man bothers to get you a card or not – I’m sure I’d have a totally different attitude if he was crap at that…

    Like

  2. Julia Child – a famous infertile, often sent Valentines day cards to friends instead of Christmas Cards. Celebrate what you can. Wishing you a wonderful Valentine’s day. May it be the last one you don’t need a babysitter for!

    Like

    • Thank you! What a wonderful idea – I had never thought of that…it certainly takes some pressure off focusing on what you can instead of what you cant! Thanks for stopping by and happy Valentine’s day to you too!

      Like

  3. I don’t know, I read this and I think of all the readers for whom Valentine’s Day is still painful. (Perhaps because Mother’s Day and Father’s Day are never going to be “my” special days either.)

    We don’t celebrate Valentine’s Day, because it’s not a thing here in New Zealand – or at least not for my generation, though sadly the younger generations are adopting it madly. Besides, our wedding anniversary is only a few days earlier, and we’d rather celebrate that!

    Like

    • Holidays can be so overrated! Sometimes it’s just about buckling down and getting through it anyway you can. This year Christmas was the hardest it’s ever been for me so I was relieved to find Valentine’s was pretty easy. I tell myself it gets easier, but I’m just not sure. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

    • Hey when you have a little one – a dinner out with wine and good conversation can be the very best! I totally think any holiday should be about what you enjoy doing together, without any consideration of what TV/social media says a good Valentine’s should look like. A few years ago I had just had a miscarriage, and didn’t feel up to going out so we sat on the floor, drank rum and ate cheezies while watching 80s movies into the wee hours of the morning. It was one of the best Valentine’s we’ve ever had. 🙂

      Like

  4. I hate Valentine’s Day. And not just because I’m single. It was on February 14, 2012 that my ex decided to leave, dissolving both our marriage and the potential adoption of our first foster-adopt placement. I guess I just take my pain out on the holiday because it serves as an ironic reminder. This year I had a migraine and my oldest developed the “sniffles” and stayed home with me so we could ba-humbug together. We watched a scary movie and ate junk food. It was actually rather perfect…..

    Like

    • It’s so hard when events like that happen on holidays. My godson is 10, and his father just died and they had the funeral yesterday…so I know Valentine’s Day is going to be a sad reminder each year. I’m glad that it worked out for you this year and you had a chance to do something you enjoy. Holidays can be so overrated!

      Like

Leave a Reply

