Microblog Mondays – Books

Check out Stirrup Queens for more information on Microblog Mondays, and see how you can participate too!

It’s not secret that I love to read. Sometimes, I can read 6 -8 books a month and other times I read only 3 or 4. It’s my escape from the world and I love that I get to learn so much and experience so much with each novel I pick.

BUT….

It is costly. I spend anywhere from $40 to $120 per month on books (which gives Mr. Big a stroke). I buy used wherever possible, but I have an issue with books that are smelly or dirty (crusty food drops on pages are the products of my nightmares!) – so it’s hard for me to buy used or use a library. I always flip through the book first to ensure it is clean before buying or loaning.

It’s also space consuming – I have three book shelves and the top of our linen chest covered in books and I am already out of space. I love having my house filled with books, but at the same time – I’m out of room!!

So I’m reaching out to my fellow readers: how do you save money on books and do you keep your books or recycle them? (Note: By recycle, I mean donate or give away).

5 thoughts on “Microblog Mondays – Books

  1. I tend to use electronic library books. Free and without any pesky stains, smells etc. But if you prefer paper books, I share with neighbors and family as well. I always loan out or donate to the used book shop at our library. I don’t reread books so I don’t want to store them, unread.

    Like

  2. Using my Kindle has been really space-saving. Also, the library. It’s just too costly to buy every book I want to read, and if I end up not liking it as much as I thought I would, I have it forever. Half.com is a great place to buy inexpensive books.

    Like

  3. I have one entire wall with floor to ceiling bookshelves and they are completely full- and this is after donating boxes, and boxes, and more boxes when we moved nearly 6 years ago! Many of these are ones that were mine, but many were my mom’s. She and I shared a love of reading and one of the things she wanted me to have were all her books. Due to space, I mostly get Kindle books now- I tend to know what I’m going to enjoy (sure there are a few duds!) and I love to re-read the books that I truly love. I save money because I simply don’t have time to read that much, and I also re-read. Plus there are still many of mom’s books I haven’t read when I’m desperate. LOL. I do have the local library for my Kindle but the waitlists are usually crazy…..

    Like

  4. I keep my books, so I’m no help there. I do try to borrow from the library. And I’ve bought a few digital, though I don’t really like e-books.

    Like

Leave a Reply

