Microblog Mondays – Coyotes

*Read more about Microblog Mondays here!*

Three weeks ago when Mr. Big and I arrived home from a party at around midnight, we got out of the car to the sound of 5 -6 coyotes howling at the big, beautiful full moon. It was the eeriest and most beautiful experience – but I have to admit, it sent chills up my spine. (side note…why DO they howl at the full moon??). I have occasionally heard one howling nearby, but never a whole pack. It was crazy.

Then on Saturday my Vet called us (and all of their rural clients) to advise us there has been a spike in coyote attacks on dogs, and to be cautious letting your dogs out at night.

Naturally, I awoke at 4:35 AM this morning after a horrible nightmare in which Beans (our small dog) was snatched by a coyote, taken into the woods and eaten. I tried to wake Mr. Big to tell him we need to move, but he was less than appreciative. I then spent the next 20 minutes on the desk in my jammies and a parka, armed with a snow shovel, while the dogs took their sweet time peeing.

As you can imagine, there was no going back to sleep after that.

Send coffee…and perhaps a guard Donkey.

 

5 thoughts on “Microblog Mondays – Coyotes

  1. We have a coyote den not too far away from our house (according to a hunter friend, who’s traipsed through the woods next to the property), and there have been a number of times the howling sounded straight out of a horror movie (you know, right before the main characters get attacked… *shudder*). The rule in our family is that our dog is on leash starting at dusk, and we try to keep to the side of the house away from woods. Hope your pack gets bored, and moves on quickly!

    Like

    1. Thank you – I do too! It is so creepy! Thankfully we have two big dogs who are generally considered safe but one little one that I keep close at night when we’re out now. I shudder at the notion of one of them getting attacked. Too scary.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Don’t they know they are supposed to become speed-pee-ers? I have that thought a lot with hawks. They fly overhead and I think to myself, “I should not have Linus outside.” Luckily we have a choice. It’s not like you can have the dogs pee inside.

    Like

  3. I have never heard a coyote howl, but I assume it’s on par with the cry of the fox, which sounds like a woman being attacked. Google it, the sound is heart-stopping. We used to worry about the lambs when we’d hear the fox, but luckily their flock kept them safe. There are now coyote on the farm and my parents make sure to pen up the vulnerable animals, like the chickens, turkeys, and the house cats. They won’t get a small dog for fear of the coyotes, but even a bigger dog isn’t safe if there is a whole pack. I vote guard donkey! Praying all your furry loves stay safe!

    Like

Leave a Reply

