MicroblogMondays – Books unfinished

Have you ever read a book that, once completed, left you with more questions than answers?

I’ve recently read a couple in a row that are like that. The author introduces a character, or an experience, or a memory that begs for more – and then seemingly forgets about it and never addresses it again. The whole time I’m keeping it in the back of my mind, wondering when the writer is going to tie it back into the story – but then the book ends, without a single mention of it again and no plans for a sequel (in case you’re thinking they’re laying the ground work for more). I have no idea if this is intentional or accidental – but it drives me bananas. When I read a book, I like a nice clean ending unless there is a sequel coming.

What about you? Do you like to be left wondering?

* For more on Microblog Mondays-  see Stirrup Queens.

 

7 thoughts on “MicroblogMondays – Books unfinished

  1. It drives me quote bonkers to be left wondering, but it does give me some great food for thought!!! Movies that finish in an open ended way are like that for me too…. I prefer closure!

    Like

  2. I hate ambiguous endings – I can’t stand not knowing what’s going on. I’ve read plenty of books like that but a film springs to mind right now – Personal Shopper, that I saw recently. Don’t know what the hell was going on at the end and it really annoyed me, although I liked the film.

    Like

  3. I had that with Summer House with Swimming Pool. When I googled it, other people were talking about it, too. It actually turned me off to future Herman Koch books. I haven’t read another because I was bothered with a story that didn’t seem to end with chunks that seemed to serve no point.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

