Microblog Mondays – Empty Parking Lots

See more about Microblog Mondays at Stirrup Queens!

First of all…Happy Father’s Day to all the men in the world who love and nurture little people – whether they share a biological connection or not. There are not enough of you.

I made the mistake of going shopping with my father this weekend. Which is painful, at best, and plain hellish torture at worst. But, you know, it WAS father’s day so I spent the day with him while he meandered around 5 million 5 different stores looking for the same big item (new riding lawn mower) and comparing them to see which one had the best deal (and then, oh it gets better, we got to go BACK to the stores we’d already been to because he could not remember if they had *insert minor detail that he may or may not ever use* and then how could he determine which was the better deal??). So, while I love my Dad dearly – I typically avoid shopping with him for big ticket items at all possible cost. He can shop for normal stuff like a normal person, but when it comes to big items  – well, let’s just say, I used to have two sisters who died from boredom and exertion after being carted around all day looking for a new washing machine (Just kidding, they’re alive and well and managed to avoid this shopping trip because they were at home with their husbands and children celebrating Father’s Day (side note: infertility in a fertile family sucks balls)).

Having said all of this, I would like to note that I noticed two things on my excursion: #1. Despite the pain of this shopping trip, my Dad is hilarious and I couldn’t be more blessed to have him in my life (love you Dad!!). And he knows all the best chip trucks!

#2. There are two types of people in the world when faced with an empty parking lot – Type A drives directly across the empty parking spots to the exit since the lot is empty and Type B who drives AROUND the empty parking spots, as per the lines and signage, to the exit even though the lot is empty. I am Type A, my Dad (as you may have already guessed) is type B.

So let’s just say it was a long day. And in case you’re wondering, after all that, he decided not to buy the mower because the sales guy hinted there was a deal coming next weekend. *facepalm*

What did you do this weekend? Would you be Type A or Type B?

8 thoughts on “Microblog Mondays – Empty Parking Lots

  1. I thought for a moment you were shopping with my dad for a big ticket item. Except he would not be buying a riding lawn mower. You described it. I have a wonderfully exasperating dad too.

    Like

  2. I used to be a very strict type A…. and then I changed somewhere along the line. Sometimes I figure ‘What the heck!’ I’m not going to hurt anyone by doing it, and I feel a little bit reckless – haha.

    Like

  3. Hubby and I are fairly indecisive so it can take us ages to decide on big purchases! A good idea is to take a photo of the item info and price so that when you go to another shop you can just look back on your phone to compare it. Glad you had some father daughter time anyway 🙂

    Like

  4. This was a funny post but so full of love! I’m both type A and B, depending on the parking lot, but probably veer towards type B, as I’m a bit of a rule-follower by nature.

    Like

Leave a Reply

