#Microblogmondays – Things I’ve Learned

It’s amazing: when you’re a teenager all of your energy is focused on figuring out who you are and what your place in the world looks like. You build off what you already know and add in a few changes and new things. Then, in your 20s, you do it again. And in your 30s, you do it again. And, I’d imagine, in my 40s, I’ll do it again.

Right now I am 13 days away from turning 31 and I am already feeling the stirring of my personal preferences – prepping for another layer of self awareness.

I already know who I am is made up of my family (including pets), my violin, reading, friends and spending time in nature. What is new to me now is that there is almost nothing I want more than to be at home, with Mr.Big and our pets. Any absence reminds me how much I enjoy our home and our family. I was never a homebody before – but now it’s what I look forward to whenever I’m away – even if I’m just at work. I love that I love home enough to look forward to it every single day and I love that home is Mr.Big, the pups and me. (Also, I’ve noticed I have a new love for a clean, orderly home and I draw great personal satisfaction in making it so.)

What changes have you seen in yourself in this stage of life? Do you find you seem to readjust yourself every decade or so?

For more #MicroblogMondays, and to see how you can join too, hop on over to Stirrup Queens.

 

4 thoughts on “#Microblogmondays – Things I’ve Learned

  1. yeah I’ve gotten to be more of a homebody too! There were times in my 20s when I loved nothing more than getting dressed up and going out for drinks and dancing with friends. Now I love weekends cooking with hubby then snuggling up on the couch watching shows/movies!

    Like

  2. I so relate to this! I love being home, and I love making my home look lovely and put together, too. Now that school has started I am in a bit of slump with that, but it will even out in a week or two and then it will all be organized again. Snuggling with the husband and the pets is also a favorite thing, and reading…there’s that lovely thing where you don’t feel the urge to be busy, to go out unless you want to… I feel like new decades are always times of reflection and discovering who you are at this moment, and how your experiences have changed you, and what you truly care about. It sounds like you are doing 30s like a rockstar!

    Like

    • Right? There is something so wonderful about moving at your own pace. I totally thought 30 would be awful but it has actually been a year of really getting to know myself. 31, I hope, will be the same. I also get into slumps where I am not as tidy as usual, and then a good sunday comes along and I whip it all back into shape!

      Like

Leave a Reply

